- ColtsAddicts - http://www.coltsaddicts.com -

Why Andrew Luck’s Wins Trump Robert Griffin III’s Stats

Posted By Jeremy Sickel On November 25, 2012 @ 11:18 pm In Colts News | No Comments

Andrew Luck [1] led the Indianapolis Colts [2] to their seventh win of the 2012 season with Sunday’s 20-13 defeat of the Buffalo Bills [3]. While the rookie is certainly being affected by the differences between the pro and college games, no one can question his value to his team and the NFL [4].

Through 11 games, Luck is completing just 56.8 percent of his passes for 13 touchdowns and 13 interceptions. Though his 3,205 passing yards are good enough for top 10 in the league, it is obvious that there is plenty of room for improvement in the coming years for the young quarterback.

However, there is another rookie signal-caller making a major impact for his team and the league as well. Drafted just one pick behind Luck (second overall), Robert Griffin III is stating his case [5] for the NFL’s MVP award.

After his 311-yard, four-touchdown performance during the Washington Redskins [6]‘ 38-31 win over the Dallas Cowboys [7] on Thanksgiving Day, Griffin is the league’s fourth-rated passer and has accounted for 22 total touchdowns to only four interceptions.

As both a passer and a runner, Griffin is currently challenged by no one in the NFL. Michael Vick [8]’s struggles are apparent, and the league seems to have Cam Newton figured out—for now.

Though the debate between Luck and Griffin is going nowhere for a very long time, both are seeing success on a different level right now.

Is the fact that Luck has the Colts firmly planted in the AFC playoff picture a bigger accomplishment than RG3’s ability to make his opponents look silly?

While both quarterbacks look like the real deal and will eventually see success on both ends of the spectrum—team and individual—winning is how players are remembered in the NFL. It is why Joe Montana, John Elway and Tom Brady [9] are predominantly mentioned ahead of Dan Marino when talking about which quarterback is the all-time greatest.

This certainly isn’t an endorsement for Luck and Griffin to eventually be in this discussion; rather, it’s a note that Luck is ahead of the curve when it comes to potentially joining the ranks.

The Colts finished 2-14 last season, earning the right to select Luck with top pick in last April’s NFL draft. For him to have this team in the position it is in right now was not expected—unlike how both Luck and Griffin were anticipated to fit right in as quarterbacks in this league.

If Griffin is able to lead the Redskins into the postseason this season—a definite possibility with their remaining schedule [10]—this conversation becomes more interesting.

Until then, however, Luck’s team success trumps what RG3 is doing on the field.

 

Follow Jeremy on Twitter @KCPopFlyBoy [11]

Read more Indianapolis Colts [2] news on BleacherReport.com


Article printed from ColtsAddicts: http://www.coltsaddicts.com

URL to article: http://www.coltsaddicts.com/colts-news/why-andrew-lucks-wins-trump-robert-griffin-iiis-stats/

URLs in this post:

[1] Andrew Luck: http://bleacherreport.com/andrew-luck

[2] Indianapolis Colts: http://bleacherreport.com/indianapolis-colts

[3] Buffalo Bills: http://bleacherreport.com/buffalo-bills

[4] NFL: http://bleacherreport.com/nfl

[5] stating his case: http://bleacherreport.com/articles/1419179-making-a-case-for-robert-griffin-iii-as-the-nfls-mvp-in-his-rookie-season

[6] Washington Redskins: http://bleacherreport.com/washington-redskins

[7] Dallas Cowboys: http://bleacherreport.com/dallas-cowboys

[8] Michael Vick: http://bleacherreport.com/michael-vick

[9] Tom Brady: http://bleacherreport.com/tom-brady

[10] remaining schedule: http://espn.go.com/nfl/team/_/name/wsh/washington-redskins

[11] @KCPopFlyBoy: https://twitter.com/KCPopFlyBoy

Copyright © 2009 ColtsAddicts. All rights reserved.