- ColtsAddicts - http://www.coltsaddicts.com -

Why Andrew Luck Should Embrace Opportunity to Sit and Learn from Peyton Manning

Posted By John Rozum On December 6, 2011 @ 3:43 pm In Colts News | No Comments

According to Michael David Smith of NBC Sports [1], Andrew Luck is ready for the NFL: “Luck said on ESPN that he considers himself ‘absolutely’ prepared to leave college and enter the NFL draft.”

Smith went on to add: “Luck said he hasn’t been planning any type of formal announcement about his plans to enter the NFL [2] draft because he thought it was obvious that this is his last season in college.”

All that said, if the 0-12 Indianapolis Colts [3] decide to draft Andrew Luck No. 1 overall (at least that’s the current position), whether he sees the field or not is another issue.

In an article by Mike Florio of NBC Sports [4], Manning’s father Archie hints at the situation, stating, “Archie doesn’t believe that Peyton and Luck will want to be teammates in Indianapolis.”

Florio quotes Archie from FOX Sports Radio’s Zakk & Jack Show:

“I don’t think it’d necessarily be great for either one,”  “I think Andrew’s the type of mature player…he can walk right in.  I mean, these other three or four guys that are playing this year, [if] they can walk in and contribute, Andrew can, too.”

So with this being said, the question is what happens before the draft?

What’s interesting here is how soon Luck wants to hit the field and learn by doing or learn from one of the greatest to ever play the position.

As hard as it is to mention Brett Favre [5], the current success of Aaron Rodgers [6] definitely owes some credit. Rodgers learned from the then-non-egotistical Favre, who just wanted to play for the Packers [7] and win.

Now we see Rodgers in that exact frame of mind. He learned from a legend and once given the opportunity, he took control and isn’t looking back.

This is one example that Andrew Luck needs to consider if the Colts keep Peyton Manning [8]. Think about the situation at hand. How many players have the opportunity to learn from someone like Manning?

It can only help in Luck’s development as an NFL QB, because after all, no one is perfect and there’s always room for improvement. Even Tom Brady [9] had to wait and learn from Drew Bledsoe, who’s not a bad QB either.

You can’t compare him to Manning, but let’s be real, it’s hard to compare most players to Manning.

Philip Rivers [10] is another good example.

For a couple of years, Rivers was the backup to Drew Brees [11] in San Diego [12], and although Rivers is having a down year, he’s been one of the most prolific and efficient passers since becoming a full-time starter.

To that end, if the Colts keep Manning and do end up drafting Luck (which seems unlikely), he needs to embrace to opportunity. Plain and simple, there’s no shame in learning from one of the best when the future is full of so much potential.

 

Follow John Rozum [13] on Twitter @ Sportswriter27 [14]

Read more Indianapolis Colts [3] news on BleacherReport.com


Article printed from ColtsAddicts: http://www.coltsaddicts.com

URL to article: http://www.coltsaddicts.com/colts-news/why-andrew-luck-should-embrace-opportunity-to-sit-and-learn-from-peyton-manning/

URLs in this post:

[1] According to Michael David Smith of NBC Sports: http://profootballtalk.nbcsports.com/2011/12/06/andrew-luck-says-hes-absolutely-ready-for-the-nfl/

[2] NFL: http://bleacherreport.com/nfl

[3] Indianapolis Colts: http://bleacherreport.com/indianapolis-colts

[4] an article by Mike Florio of NBC Sports: http://profootballtalk.nbcsports.com/2011/12/06/archie-manning-doubts-that-peyton-and-andrew-luck-want-to-be-teammates/

[5] Brett Favre: http://bleacherreport.com/brett-favre

[6] Aaron Rodgers: http://bleacherreport.com/aaron-rodgers

[7] Packers: http://bleacherreport.com/green-bay-packers

[8] Peyton Manning: http://bleacherreport.com/peyton-manning

[9] Tom Brady: http://bleacherreport.com/tom-brady

[10] Philip Rivers: http://bleacherreport.com/philip-rivers

[11] Drew Brees: http://bleacherreport.com/drew-brees

[12] San Diego: http://bleacherreport.com/san-diego-chargers

[13] John Rozum: http://bleacherreport.com/articles/users/389682-john-rozum

[14] Twitter @ Sportswriter27: http://twitter.com/sportswriter27

Copyright © 2009 ColtsAddicts. All rights reserved.