- ColtsAddicts - http://www.coltsaddicts.com -

NFL Trade Rumors: Latest Buzz Surrounding Brandon Lloyd and Reggie Wayne

Posted By Justin Welton On October 15, 2011 @ 9:54 am In Colts News | No Comments

Brandon Lloyd of the Denver Broncos [1] and Reggie Wayne [2] of the Indianapolis Colts [3] may be moved by the Tuesday, Oct 18 NFL Trade Deadline.

The NFL is different than any other American sport in the way its trade deadline works. Unlike the National Hockey League, National Basketball Association and Major League Baseball, the NFL rarely sees trades during this time.

Will this year be different? Could Lloyd and Wayne be gone come Tuesday? Both are possibilities, but Lloyd seems more likely. He has been made available by the Broncos organization, according to the Denver Post [4].

The site says that they are searching for a third-to-fifth round pick for the wide receiver.

Carolina Panthers [5], Tennessee Titans [6] and St. Louis Rams [7] have all been thought of as potential landing grounds for Lloyd.

The Panthers want to give quarterback Cam Newton another weapon on the perimeter with Steve Smith. This would give Newton a plethora of veteran options surrounding him in the offense. With Lloyd being a free agent, this could be a possibility.

St. Louis [8] needs to put pieces around Sam Bradford [9]. A move to the Rams would make sense for the future, but not at this moment. With both the Broncos and Rams having poor seasons, the move from the Rams standpoint would be ideal.

Tennessee is the team that makes the most sense in 2011. It’s a two-team race in the AFC South between the Titans and Houston Texans [10]. Tennessee could look to bolster their receiving corps with Kenny Britt on the shelf with a torn ACL.

 

Nate Washington [11] can’t be the only weapon for quarterback Matt Hasslebeck. Lloyd could be another weapon in the arsenal.

I can’t see Wayne being traded this season. When Peyton Manning [12] returns in 2012, his favorite target has to be there if they plan on making another Super Bowl run.

Wayne is one of the most productive wide receivers in the game. You can say that Manning has made Wayne what he is today, but he would be just as productive with other teams.

ESPN’s Adam Schefter announced [13] on ESPN Radio that the Colts should shop not only Wayne, but defensive end Robert Mathis for fourth-round draft choices in the 2012 draft.

Schefter said that Mathis could be a good fit with the New York Jets [14] and Wayne could fit well with the Buffalo Bills [15].

There appears to be no smoke to the fire right now, but things could change in the next few days.

Lloyd seems like the wide receiver that could be on his way out of town. However, it is the NFL Trade Deadline and trades rarely happen. These two wide receivers may be home for the holidays. 

Follow JustinWelton on Twitter [16]

Read more Indianapolis Colts [3] news on BleacherReport.com


Article printed from ColtsAddicts: http://www.coltsaddicts.com

URL to article: http://www.coltsaddicts.com/colts-news/nfl-trade-rumors-latest-buzz-surrounding-brandon-lloyd-and-reggie-wayne/

URLs in this post:

[1] Denver Broncos: http://bleacherreport.com/denver-broncos

[2] Reggie Wayne: http://bleacherreport.com/reggie-wayne

[3] Indianapolis Colts: http://bleacherreport.com/indianapolis-colts

[4] Denver Post: http://www.denverpost.com/broncos/ci_19108351?source%3Drss

[5] Carolina Panthers: http://bleacherreport.com/carolina-panthers

[6] Tennessee Titans: http://bleacherreport.com/tennessee-titans

[7] Rams: http://bleacherreport.com/st-louis-rams

[8] St. Louis: http://www.sportsoverdose.com/topic/brandon-lloyd-trade-rumors.html

[9] Sam Bradford: http://bleacherreport.com/sam-bradford

[10] Houston Texans: http://bleacherreport.com/houston-texans

[11] Washington: http://bleacherreport.com/washington-redskins

[12] Peyton Manning: http://bleacherreport.com/peyton-manning

[13] announced: http://profootballtalk.nbcsports.com/2011/10/14/speculation-surfaces-that-colts-could-move-reggie-wayne-robert-mathis/

[14] New York Jets: http://bleacherreport.com/new-york-jets

[15] Buffalo Bills: http://bleacherreport.com/buffalo-bills

[16] Image: http://www.twitter.com/JustinWelton

Copyright © 2009 ColtsAddicts. All rights reserved.