- ColtsAddicts - http://www.coltsaddicts.com -

NFL Power Rankings Week 9: Cellar Dwellers That Have No Hope of Rising Up Ranks

Posted By Mike Chiari On November 2, 2011 @ 10:14 am In Colts News | No Comments

We may only be entering the ninth week of the NFL [1] season, but there are already several teams that have essentially no shot at making the playoffs. There is still time to get back to respectability, though, but some teams simply don’t have the tools to do it.

Ultimately, while it may not be in their nature, some teams are best off mailing in the season and trying to get the No. 1 overall draft pick to select Stanford quarterback Andrew Luck.

Here are three cellar dwellers that are going nowhere fast.

 

Arizona Cardinals [2]

Many thought that the revamped Arizona Cardinals would have a shot to win the weak NFC West this season thanks to the addition of quarterback Kevin Kolb, but that seems to be a near-impossibility at this point as they sit with a 1-6 record.

Kolb hasn’t lived up to expectations in the least and the defense has been an abomination. The Cards will host the 1-6 St. Louis Rams [3] this week, but the Rams are coming off an inspiring victory over the New Orleans Saints [4]. The Rams got back to basics by running the ball with Steven Jackson and I expect them to carry their momentum into Arizona.

 

Miami Dolphins [5]

Things certainly haven’t gone well for the Miami Dolphins this season as they are one of only two remaining teams without a win. They came close against the New York Giants [6] in Week 8, but ultimately were unable to hang on to a late lead.

Matt Moore has been unimpressive at quarterback in the absence of Chad Henne and the defense has been atrocious—particularly against the pass. Miami will run into a rolling Kansas City Chiefs [7] team that has won four consecutive games. The Dolphins are a bit better than their record shows, but not by much as the talent level simply isn’t there.

 

Indianapolis Colts [8]

Nobody thought things would come easily for the Indianapolis Colts without quarterback Peyton Manning [9], but I’m not sure anyone predicted that the Colts would be quite this bad. Indianapolis is the worst team in the league by far at 0-8, and there really isn’t a light at the end of the tunnel.

The Colts were wiped out 62-7 by the New Orleans Saints two weeks ago and didn’t look very good against the Tennessee Titans [10] in Week 8. The defense is worse than it ever has been, and the offense simply can’t find a rhythm with Curtis Painter under center. With the surging Atlanta Falcons [11] coming to town, things are likely to go from bad to worse.

 

Mike Chiari’s Week 9 NFL Power Rankings Previous Week’s Ranking
1. Green Bay Packers [12] 1
2. San Francisco 49ers [13] 3
3. Pittsburgh Steelers [14] 5
4. New England Patriots [15] 2
5. Baltimore Ravens [16] 6
6. Detroit Lions [17] 7
7. New York Giants 9
8. Buffalo Bills [18] 12
9. New Orleans Saints [4] 4
10. Houston Texans [19] 11
11. Atlanta Falcons [11] 10
12. Cincinnati Bengals [20] 14
13. New York Jets [21] 13
14. San Diego Chargers [22] 8
15. Philadelphia Eagles [23] 20
16. Chicago Bears [24] 16
17. Tampa Bay Buccaneers [25] 17
18. Kansas City Chiefs 25
19. Tennessee Titans [10] 19
20. Oakland Raiders [26] 18
21. Dallas Cowboys [27] 15
22. Cleveland Browns [28] 21
23. Carolina Panthers [29] 22
24. Minnesota Vikings [30] 28
25. Jacksonville Jaguars [31] 24
26. Washington Redskins [32] 23
27. St. Louis Rams 31
28. Denver Broncos [33] 26
29. Seattle Seahawks [34] 27
30. Arizona Cardinals [2] 29
31. Miami Dolphins [5] 30
32. Indianapolis Colts [8] 32

Read more Indianapolis Colts [8] news on BleacherReport.com


Article printed from ColtsAddicts: http://www.coltsaddicts.com

URL to article: http://www.coltsaddicts.com/colts-news/nfl-power-rankings-week-9-cellar-dwellers-that-have-no-hope-of-rising-up-ranks/

URLs in this post:

[1] NFL: http://bleacherreport.com/nfl

[2] Arizona Cardinals: http://bleacherreport.com/arizona-cardinals

[3] Rams: http://bleacherreport.com/st-louis-rams

[4] New Orleans Saints: http://bleacherreport.com/new-orleans-saints

[5] Miami Dolphins: http://bleacherreport.com/miami-dolphins

[6] New York Giants: http://bleacherreport.com/new-york-giants

[7] Kansas City Chiefs: http://bleacherreport.com/kansas-city-chiefs

[8] Indianapolis Colts: http://bleacherreport.com/indianapolis-colts

[9] Peyton Manning: http://bleacherreport.com/peyton-manning

[10] Tennessee Titans: http://bleacherreport.com/tennessee-titans

[11] Atlanta Falcons: http://bleacherreport.com/atlanta-falcons

[12] Green Bay Packers: http://bleacherreport.com/green-bay-packers

[13] San Francisco 49ers: http://bleacherreport.com/san-francisco-49ers

[14] Pittsburgh Steelers: http://bleacherreport.com/pittsburgh-steelers

[15] New England Patriots: http://bleacherreport.com/new-england-patriots

[16] Baltimore Ravens: http://bleacherreport.com/baltimore-ravens

[17] Detroit Lions: http://bleacherreport.com/detroit-lions

[18] Buffalo Bills: http://bleacherreport.com/buffalo-bills

[19] Houston Texans: http://bleacherreport.com/houston-texans

[20] Cincinnati Bengals: http://bleacherreport.com/cincinnati-bengals

[21] New York Jets: http://bleacherreport.com/new-york-jets

[22] San Diego Chargers: http://bleacherreport.com/san-diego-chargers

[23] Philadelphia Eagles: http://bleacherreport.com/philadelphia-eagles

[24] Chicago Bears: http://bleacherreport.com/chicago-bears

[25] Tampa Bay Buccaneers: http://bleacherreport.com/tampa-bay-buccaneers

[26] Oakland Raiders: http://bleacherreport.com/oakland-raiders

[27] Dallas Cowboys: http://bleacherreport.com/dallas-cowboys

[28] Cleveland Browns: http://bleacherreport.com/cleveland-browns

[29] Carolina Panthers: http://bleacherreport.com/carolina-panthers

[30] Minnesota Vikings: http://bleacherreport.com/minnesota-vikings

[31] Jacksonville Jaguars: http://bleacherreport.com/jacksonville-jaguars

[32] Washington Redskins: http://bleacherreport.com/washington-redskins

[33] Denver Broncos: http://bleacherreport.com/denver-broncos

[34] Seattle Seahawks: http://bleacherreport.com/seattle-seahawks

Copyright © 2009 ColtsAddicts. All rights reserved.