- ColtsAddicts - http://www.coltsaddicts.com -

Jim Harbaugh Has Strong Ties to Indianapolis and Other AFC South Must-Reads

Posted By Nate Dunlevy On January 31, 2013 @ 8:15 am In Colts News | No Comments

While many will be rooting for Ray Lewis [1] to end his career on a high note in the Super Bowl, Indiana football fans will be pulling in a different direction.

As Marcus Dugan of Colts Authority [2] points out, Jim Harbaugh [3] is still well-loved in Indianapolis for his brief but dramatic tenure with the Colts.

As I mentioned in my book about [4] Indianapolis Colts [5] history, Harbaugh galvanized Indianapolis with his high-flying comebacks and infectious personality.

He was recognized with a spot in the Colts’ Ring of Honor for his exploits.

He was only quarterback of the Colts for four years, and they never won more than nine games in any of them, but he came along at an important moment. His playoff run in 1995 was the first meaningful success for the franchise and helped win over fans to the relatively new-to-town team.

Harbaugh has remained popular in the area and many have followed his coaching career and noted the obvious connection between the once Captain Comeback and Andrew Luck.

While one Pro Bowl and a passer rating title is hardly the stuff of legend, it was more than enough to make him a permanent hero to Colts fans.

 

General Interest

Mike Tanier of Sports on Earth [6] has a brilliant piece on why he roots for Joe Flacco.

Paul Kuharsky of ESPN.com [7] has links to interviews by Maurice Jones Drew and Adam Vinatieri.

 

Houston Texans [8]

Stephanie Stradley of the Houston Chronicle [9] interviews Rich Eisen.

 

Indianapolis Colts

Doug Farrar of Yahoo! Sports [10] says Luck helped his old coach pick a quarterback.

Kuharsky of ESPN.com [11] says Jim Caldwell might get a second chance.

Phil Richards of the Indianapolis Star [12] says the team intends to absorb a tax increase.

 

Tennessee Titans [13]

Tom Gower of Total Titans [14] reviews the Week 17 win.

Jim Wyatt of the Tennessean [15] says Randy Moss [16] has some complaints about his time in Nashville.

 

Jacksonville Jaguars [17]

Ryan O’Halloran of the Florida Times-Union [18] says Maurice Jones-Drew talked about his injury.

Alfie Crow of Big Cat Country [19] asks if Alex Smith would really be an upgrade over what the Jaguars have at quarterback.

Read more Indianapolis Colts [5] news on BleacherReport.com


Article printed from ColtsAddicts: http://www.coltsaddicts.com

URL to article: http://www.coltsaddicts.com/colts-news/jim-harbaugh-has-strong-ties-to-indianapolis-and-other-afc-south-must-reads/

URLs in this post:

[1] Ray Lewis: http://bleacherreport.com/ray-lewis

[2] Marcus Dugan of Colts Authority: http://www.coltsauthority.com/2013-articles/january/remembering-jim-harbaugh-s-days-with-the-colts.html

[3] Jim Harbaugh: http://bleacherreport.com/jim-harbaugh

[4] my book about: http://www.amazon.com/Blue-Blood-Nate-Dunlevy/dp/1935444247/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1359634132&sr=8-1&keywords=blue+blood+dunlevy

[5] Indianapolis Colts: http://bleacherreport.com/indianapolis-colts

[6] Sports on Earth: http://www.sportsonearth.com/article/41242998

[7] ESPN.com: http://espn.go.com/blog/afcsouth/post/_/id/46853/mjd-vinatieri-from-new-orleans

[8] Houston Texans: http://bleacherreport.com/houston-texans

[9] Houston Chronicle: http://blog.chron.com/ultimatetexans/2013/01/interview-with-rich-eisen-of-nfl-network-about-the-super-bowl-and-more/

[10] Yahoo! Sports: http://sports.yahoo.com/blogs/nfl-shutdown-corner/andrew-luck-not-surprised-success-harbaugh-kaepernick-combination-235205101--nfl.html?utm_source=twitterfeed&utm_medium=twitter

[11] ESPN.com: http://espn.go.com/blog/afcsouth/post/_/id/46858/on-a-second-chance-for-caldwell-as-coach

[12] Indianapolis Star: http://www.indystar.com/article/20130130/SPORTS03/301300326/Colts-say-tax-hike-will-not-increase-most-ticket-prices

[13] Tennessee Titans: http://bleacherreport.com/tennessee-titans

[14] Total Titans: http://www.totaltitans.com/2013-articles/january/notes-from-titans-jaguars-week-17-offense.html

[15] Tennessean: http://www.tennessean.com/article/20130131/SPORTS01/301310075/Randy-Moss-says-Titans-blackballed-him

[16] Randy Moss: http://bleacherreport.com/randy-moss

[17] Jacksonville Jaguars: http://bleacherreport.com/jacksonville-jaguars

[18] Florida Times-Union: http://jacksonville.com/sports/football/jaguars/2013-01-30/story/foot-still-cast-jaguars-rb-maurice-jones-drew-anticipates

[19] Big Cat Country: http://www.bigcatcountry.com/2013/1/30/3932284/alex-smith-jaguars-49ers-blaine-gabbert

Copyright © 2009 ColtsAddicts. All rights reserved.