- ColtsAddicts - http://www.coltsaddicts.com -

Jets Trade Drew Stanton to the Colts, Does Anybody Notice Anything Peculiar?

Posted By Alex Giobbi On March 24, 2012 @ 1:27 am In Colts News | No Comments

So after a week, Drew Stanton [1] goes from wearing Green and White to Blue and White. 

The disgruntled ex-Lions [2] backup who signed a deal with the Jets was traded to the Colts [3] mere days after expressing his displeasure over the addition of Tim Tebow [4]. He and the seventh-round draft choice obtained from the Jacksonville Jaguars [5] were exchanged for the first overall pick in the sixth round. 

I couldn’t help but notice a small peculiarity in the deal, or for that matter, the deals preceding the deal.

In case you forgot, Denver signed former Colts star quarterback Peyton Manning [6] to a five-year deal, after which Tim Tebow, former Broncos [7] quarterback, was traded to the New York Jets [8]. Then, Stanton was traded to the Colts. Weird, isn’t it? Three unrelated deals involving the same three teams, with each team getting the others’ quarterback. 

That domino effect may have gone unnoticed by some of the higher ups, but I do believe that its quite the coincidence. Still, stranger things have happened in sports transactions.

There was Harry Chiti, the unfortunate catcher whom the New York Mets acquired back in 1962. He ended up being traded for himself when the Mets shipped him back to Cleveland [9].

Then there was the Herschel Walker trade in 1989, when the Minnesota Vikings [10] and the Dallas Cowboys [11] dealt a record 12 players, one of which was the former Heisman Trophy winner.

In the NBA, there was the infamous Darko Milicic deal where the Detroit Pistons traded a player back in 1996 to the then-Vancouver Grizzlies for a first-rounder. Seven years later, the Pistons get Darko Milicic, the second pick in the 2003 NBA draft.

And finally, in the NHL, the Sedin deal where the Vancouver Canucks traded a bounty of draft choices in order to select the Sedin brothers, Daniel and Henrik.

Basically, the chain deal that involved Peyton Manning, Tim Tebow and Drew Stanton will go down as one of the weirdest transactions in recent memory.  

Read more Indianapolis Colts [3] news on BleacherReport.com


Article printed from ColtsAddicts: http://www.coltsaddicts.com

URL to article: http://www.coltsaddicts.com/colts-news/jets-trade-drew-stanton-to-the-colts-does-anybody-notice-anything-peculiar/

URLs in this post:

[1] Drew Stanton: http://bleacherreport.com/drew-stanton

[2] Lions: http://bleacherreport.com/detroit-lions

[3] Colts: http://bleacherreport.com/indianapolis-colts

[4] Tim Tebow: http://bleacherreport.com/tim-tebow

[5] Jacksonville Jaguars: http://bleacherreport.com/jacksonville-jaguars

[6] Peyton Manning: http://bleacherreport.com/peyton-manning

[7] Broncos: http://bleacherreport.com/denver-broncos

[8] New York Jets: http://bleacherreport.com/new-york-jets

[9] Cleveland: http://bleacherreport.com/cleveland-browns

[10] Minnesota Vikings: http://bleacherreport.com/minnesota-vikings

[11] Dallas Cowboys: http://bleacherreport.com/dallas-cowboys

Copyright © 2009 ColtsAddicts. All rights reserved.