- ColtsAddicts - http://www.coltsaddicts.com -

Jerrell Freeman: a Closer Look at the Colts’ Surprising Linebacker

Posted By Tyler Brooke On December 12, 2012 @ 1:49 pm In Colts News | No Comments

Over the past decade, the Indianapolis Colts [1] have been known best for two things: Peyton Manning [2] and a terrible run defense. 

While this year hasn’t hasn’t completely changed in terms of defending the run, there has been some major signs of improvement.  After being in 20th or lower in rush defense the past five years, the Colts have moved up to 19th this year. 

With so many changes to both sides of the football, it was difficult to believe the Colts would be able to do much defensively.  However, the Colts have continued to show signs of improvement all season.

One player in particular has been a big help to the defense, and that’s linebacker Jerrell Freeman [3].

Freeman played college at Mary Hardin-Baylor, where he left the school as the all-time leading tackler.  He went undrafted in the 2008 draft but was later signed by the Tennessee Titans [4], who then released him before the season started.

Freeman played in the CFL from 2009 through 2011 with the Saskatchewan Roughriders.  He had a successful run in the CFL, making the All-Star team in 2011.

General Manager Ryan Grigson discovered Freeman and signed him in January.  After being out of the NFL [5] for several years, it appeared that Freeman would finally get a chance to play.

Freeman broke out quickly for the Colts.  In Week 1, he was able to pick off Jay Cutler [6] of the Chicago Bears [7], walking into the endzone from a yard out for his first career touchdown. 

Freeman’s season has been more than successful, especially for a player coming out of the CFL.  In just the first 13 games he has 115 tackles, including six tackles for loss.  He also has two sacks, a forced fumble and, of course, the pick six.

With the departure of Gary Brackett over the offseason, the Colts needed to find a player that could replace him.  With the incredible season that Freeman has had so far, it seems that the Colts have found that person.

Read more Indianapolis Colts [1] news on BleacherReport.com


Article printed from ColtsAddicts: http://www.coltsaddicts.com

URL to article: http://www.coltsaddicts.com/colts-news/jerrell-freeman-a-closer-look-at-the-colts-surprising-linebacker/

URLs in this post:

[1] Indianapolis Colts: http://bleacherreport.com/indianapolis-colts

[2] Peyton Manning: http://bleacherreport.com/peyton-manning

[3] Jerrell Freeman: http://bleacherreport.com/jerrell-freeman

[4] Tennessee Titans: http://bleacherreport.com/tennessee-titans

[5] NFL: http://bleacherreport.com/nfl

[6] Jay Cutler: http://bleacherreport.com/jay-cutler

[7] Chicago Bears: http://bleacherreport.com/chicago-bears

Copyright © 2009 ColtsAddicts. All rights reserved.