- ColtsAddicts - http://www.coltsaddicts.com -

Indianapolis Colts Are One of NFL’S Best September Teams

Posted By Jerry Tapp On October 1, 2012 @ 12:33 pm In Colts News | No Comments

The Indianapolis Colts [1], with a new coach and starting quarterback, turn the page on the 2012 calendar to October with a 1-2 record. While the 1-2 mark in the first month of the season may not have been exactly what the team was looking for, it was still good enough to keep the franchise at the top of the list for win-loss records in September since 2000.

Since 2000, the Colts have a 29-12 record in September (a .707 winning percentage) making them the only NFL [2] franchise to win 70 percent of their games in the season’s first month since the turn of the century. It’s important to note that from 2000 to 2007, at the height of Peyton Manning [3]’s career at the helm of the Colts, the team went 22-4 in the month of September. Since then (from 2008 to 2012) the Colts are a very average 7-8.

Following are the win-loss records for each franchise in the month of September from the 2000 season through yesterday’s games.

 

Team, win-loss record & percentage in September games (2000-2012)

Indianapolis 29-12 .707

Denver [4] 29-16 .644

Baltimore 27-15 .643

New York Giants [5] 27-16 .628

Green Bay [6] 27-19 .600

New England [7] 25-17 .595

Philadelphia [8] 26-18 .591

Seattle [9] 25-18 .581

Dallas [10] 24-18 .571

Atlanta [11] 25-19 .568

New York Jets [12] 23-20 .535

Tampa Bay [13] 23-20 .535

Minnesota [14] 22-22 .500

San Diego [15] 22-22 .500

Washington [16] 21-21 .500

Jacksonville [17] 21-22 .488

New Orleans [18] 21-22 .488

Oakland [19] 20-23 .465

Chicago [20] 19-23 .452

Tennessee [21] 19-23 .452

Buffalo [22] 19-24 .442

Cincinnati [23] 19-24 .442

Carolina 18-24 .429

San Francisco [24] 18-25 .419

Houston [25] 15-21 .417

Kansas City [26] 18-26 .409

Arizona [27] 17-26 .395

Miami [28] 17-26 .395

Detroit [29] 16-26 .381

St. Louis 17-28 .378

Cleveland 14-31 .311

 

In looking at the September records of each team since 2009 (the last four years), we see that the best September record since ’09 belongs to the Baltimore Ravens [30]. The Ravens have won 10 of their 13 September games since 2009. At the other end of the list are the Carolina Panthers [31] and Cleveland Browns [32]; both teams were only 2-11 in September games since 2009.

Following are the September records for each of the teams since 2009.

10-3: Baltimore

9-4: Atlanta, Green Bay, Houston, New York Jets

8-4: Chicago

8-5: Arizona, Cincinnati, New England, New York Giants, Philadelphia, San Diego

7-5: Dallas, Pittsburgh [33]

7-6: Denver, Minnesota, New Orleans, San Francisco

6-6: Indianapolis

6-7: Buffalo, Seattle, Washington

5-8: Detroit, Oakland, Tampa Bay, Tennessee

4-9: Jacksonville, Kansas City

3-10: Miami, St. Louis

2-11: Carolina, Cleveland

 

Follow Jerry on Twitter @StatsonTapp

Read more Indianapolis Colts [1] news on BleacherReport.com


Article printed from ColtsAddicts: http://www.coltsaddicts.com

URL to article: http://www.coltsaddicts.com/colts-news/indianapolis-colts-are-one-of-nfls-best-september-teams/

URLs in this post:

[1] Indianapolis Colts: http://bleacherreport.com/indianapolis-colts

[2] NFL: http://bleacherreport.com/nfl

[3] Peyton Manning: http://bleacherreport.com/peyton-manning

[4] Denver: http://bleacherreport.com/denver-broncos

[5] New York Giants: http://bleacherreport.com/new-york-giants

[6] Green Bay: http://bleacherreport.com/green-bay-packers

[7] New England: http://bleacherreport.com/new-england-patriots

[8] Philadelphia: http://bleacherreport.com/philadelphia-eagles

[9] Seattle: http://bleacherreport.com/seattle-seahawks

[10] Dallas: http://bleacherreport.com/dallas-cowboys

[11] Atlanta: http://bleacherreport.com/atlanta-falcons

[12] New York Jets: http://bleacherreport.com/new-york-jets

[13] Tampa Bay: http://bleacherreport.com/tampa-bay-buccaneers

[14] Minnesota: http://bleacherreport.com/minnesota-vikings

[15] San Diego: http://bleacherreport.com/san-diego-chargers

[16] Washington: http://bleacherreport.com/washington-redskins

[17] Jacksonville: http://bleacherreport.com/jacksonville-jaguars

[18] New Orleans: http://bleacherreport.com/new-orleans-saints

[19] Oakland: http://bleacherreport.com/oakland-raiders

[20] Chicago: http://bleacherreport.com/chicago-bears

[21] Tennessee: http://bleacherreport.com/tennessee-titans

[22] Buffalo: http://bleacherreport.com/buffalo-bills

[23] Cincinnati: http://bleacherreport.com/cincinnati-bengals

[24] San Francisco: http://bleacherreport.com/san-francisco-49ers

[25] Houston: http://bleacherreport.com/houston-texans

[26] Kansas City: http://bleacherreport.com/kansas-city-chiefs

[27] Arizona: http://bleacherreport.com/arizona-cardinals

[28] Miami: http://bleacherreport.com/miami-dolphins

[29] Detroit: http://bleacherreport.com/detroit-lions

[30] Baltimore Ravens: http://bleacherreport.com/baltimore-ravens

[31] Carolina Panthers: http://bleacherreport.com/carolina-panthers

[32] Cleveland Browns: http://bleacherreport.com/cleveland-browns

[33] Pittsburgh: http://bleacherreport.com/pittsburgh-steelers

Copyright © 2009 ColtsAddicts. All rights reserved.