- ColtsAddicts - http://www.coltsaddicts.com -

Fantasy Football: Plan Ahead and Stash the Indianapolis Colts Defense

Posted By Ryan Lester On October 13, 2013 @ 12:25 am In Colts News | No Comments

The Indianapolis Colts [1] are owned in roughly one-third of fantasy football leagues. When you enter Week 6 ranked 30th in the league in run defense with 129 yards allowed per game, it shouldn’t come as a surprise. The Colts are yielding 4.8 yards per carry.

I implore you to look past those statistics and roster the Colts defense.

You don’t necessarily have to make the move this week. The Colts are facing the San Diego Chargers [2] and their revived offense. The following week they face the Denver Broncos [3]. No defense has any business being in fantasy lineups while facing Peyton Manning [4] and the Broncos’ high-octane offense. In Week 8 the Colts have a bye.

So why am I pushing a fantasy defense that you can’t use for three weeks? Because the Colts have a favorable schedule after the bye.

In Weeks 9 and 15 the Colts face the Houston Texans [5]. The Texans can still be a potent offense at times, but they aren’t quite the same in 2013 that they have been in recent years. Matt Schaub has made some questionable decisions. He’s a pick-six machine. That doesn’t warrant deranged fans showing up at his house, but that’s a different story for a different day.

In both weeks the Colts are a solid option.

In Week 10, the Colts face the St. Louis Rams [6]. The Rams continue to struggle to put points on the board. They are improved, but the Colts are a solid play.

In Weeks 11 and 13, the Colts face the Tennessee Titans [7]. Chris Johnson hasn’t been as explosive. The passing game is mediocre at best. The Colts should be a top-10 fantasy defense option those weeks. In Week 12 the Colts face the Arizona Cardinals [8], a team whose run game is nonexistent. The addition of Carson Palmer has improved the passing game, but the Cardinals offense is far from an elite unit. The Colts are a strong play against them.

In Week 14, the Colts face the Cincinnati Bengals [9]. This isn’t a must-start by any means, but the Colts should be considered. Only a select few defenses are automatic options.

In Week 16, the Colts face the Kansas City Chiefs [10]. If Kansas City keeps rolling, you can likely drop it at that point, assuming your league doesn’t extend into Week 17. If it does, you’ll want to hold the Colts as they finish up against the pathetic Jacksonville Jaguars [11].

As I mentioned, you have some time before you “have” to add the Colts defense. The closer you get to Week 9 or 10, the more likely your league mates are going to discover their favorable schedule.

Also check out Lester’s Legends Week 6 Fantasy Football Rankings [12].

Read more Indianapolis Colts [1] news on BleacherReport.com


Article printed from ColtsAddicts: http://www.coltsaddicts.com

URL to article: http://www.coltsaddicts.com/colts-news/fantasy-football-plan-ahead-and-stash-the-indianapolis-colts-defense/

URLs in this post:

[1] Indianapolis Colts: http://bleacherreport.com/indianapolis-colts

[2] San Diego Chargers: http://bleacherreport.com/san-diego-chargers

[3] Denver Broncos: http://bleacherreport.com/denver-broncos

[4] Peyton Manning: http://bleacherreport.com/peyton-manning

[5] Houston Texans: http://bleacherreport.com/houston-texans

[6] St. Louis Rams: http://bleacherreport.com/st-louis-rams

[7] Tennessee Titans: http://bleacherreport.com/tennessee-titans

[8] Arizona Cardinals: http://bleacherreport.com/arizona-cardinals

[9] Cincinnati Bengals: http://bleacherreport.com/cincinnati-bengals

[10] Kansas City Chiefs: http://bleacherreport.com/kansas-city-chiefs

[11] Jacksonville Jaguars: http://bleacherreport.com/jacksonville-jaguars

[12] Lester’s Legends Week 6 Fantasy Football Rankings: http://lesterslegends.com/2013-fantasy-football-rankings/

Copyright © 2009 ColtsAddicts. All rights reserved.