- ColtsAddicts - http://www.coltsaddicts.com -

Fantasy Football Breaking News: Pick Up Donald Brown as RB Insurance

Posted By Eric Mack On September 13, 2013 @ 1:52 pm In Colts News | No Comments

With Mike Chappell of the Indianapolis Star [1] reporting that Vick Ballard is now out for the season with a knee injury, I made a quick move for Donald Brown [2] in a league where I was desperate for running back depth. Brown is a must-add in deeper leagues right away.

I lamented earlier this week in The Fantasy Football Week 2 Notebook [3] that an injury hadn’t given us a good waiver option to consider at the running back position. We have one now.

It was just a year ago Brown looked headed for a career breakthrough. Vick Ballard stole his thunder by midseason and Ahmad Bradshaw [4] put Brown on the roster bubble this preseason.

Now Brown, who I listed at SI.com among the backs to watch in a contract year [5], figures to factor into the Colts [6]‘ plans. Bradshaw has had chronic injury woes and isn’t 100 percent yet. He might never be. Brown could be getting a significant amount of work for an offense that promises to be pretty potent in Indianapolis.

And, with all this said, don’t start Brown in Week 2 against the Miami Dolphins [7] run defense that slowed Trent Richardson [8]. Brown is a Bradshaw handcuff and a speculative add right now. He ranks No. 35 among the Week 2 fantasy options (see below).

In case you want a break down of all my fantasy moves to date, here they are, broken down by league type:

 

12-Team, PPR

Drop: Ryan Williams

Add: Robert Turbin

 

Drop: Josh Freeman

Add: Andy Dalton [9]

 

 

12-Team, Standard Scoring

Drop: Martellus Bennett

Add: Le’Veon Bell

 

Drop: Ronnie Hillman

Add: Ben Tate

 

 

14-Team Keeper League, Standard Scoring

Add: Donald Brown

Drop: Eddie Royal

 

Add: Eddie Royal

Drop: Brandon Pettigrew

 

Drop: Coby Fleener

Add: Brandon Pettigrew

 

Drop: Lions D/ST

Add: Panthers D/ST

 

 

12-Team Keeper League, PPR

Add: Donald Brown

Drop: Eddie Royal

 

Add: Eddie Royal

Drop: Ryan Williams

 

Add: Julian Edelman

Drop: Mohamed Sanu

 

Drop: Steven Hauschka

Add: Dan Bailey

 

 

12-Team, Standard Scoring

Add: Julius Thomas

Drop: Zach Sudfeld

 

Traded: Chris Ivory

For: Shane Vereen

 

 

14-Team, Standard Scoring

Add: Brent Celek

Drop: Brandon Pettigrew

 

Add: Julian Edelman

Drop: Alex Smith

 

Add: Matt Prater

Drop: Graham Gano

 

 

Week 2 Running Backs Rankings – Eric Mack
Rank Running Backs Team Opponent ECR vs. ECR
1 Doug Martin [10] TB vs. NO 3 [11] +2 [11]
2 Adrian Peterson [12] Min at Chi 1 [13] -1 [13]
3 LeSean McCoy Phi vs. SD 2 [14] -1 [14]
4 Jamaal Charles [15] KC vs. Dal 4 [16] 0 [16]
5 C.J. Spiller [17] Buf vs. Car 6 [18] +1 [18]
6 Arian Foster [19] Hou vs. Ten 8 [20] +2 [20]
7 Ray Rice [21] Bal vs. Cle 5 [22] -2 [22]
8 Steven Jackson [23] Atl vs. StL 10 [24] +2 [24]
9 Reggie Bush Det at Ari 11 [25] +2 [25]
10 Alfred Morris [26] Was at GB 12 [27] +2 [27]
11 DeMarco Murray [28] Dal at KC 15 [29] +4 [29]
12 Matt Forte [30] Chi vs. Min 7 [31] -5 [31]
13 Marshawn Lynch [32] Sea vs. SF 13 [33] 0 [33]
14 Ryan Mathews SD at Phi 25 [34] +11 [34]
15 Eddie Lacy [35] GB vs. Was 18 [36] +3 [36]
16 Darren McFadden [37] Oak vs. Jac 17 [38] +1 [38]
17 Trent Richardson Cle at Bal 9 [39] -8 [39]
18 Maurice Jones-Drew Jac at Oak 14 [40] -4 [40]
19 Stevan Ridley [41] NE vs. NYJ 16 [42] -3 [42]
20 Frank Gore SF at Sea 20 [43] 0 [43]
21 Darren Sproles [44] NO at TB 21 [45] 0 [45]
22 Chris Johnson Ten at Hou 19 [46] -3 [46]
23 DeAngelo Williams Car at Buf 23 [47] 0 [47]
24 Ben Tate Hou vs. Ten 29 [48] +5 [48]
25 Lamar Miller [49] Mia at Ind 26 [50] +1 [50]
26 Rashard Mendenhall Ari vs. Det 27 [51] +1 [51]
27 Joique Bell Det at Ari 30 [52] +3 [52]
28 David Wilson [53] NYG vs. Den 22 [54] -6 [54]
29 Daryl Richardson StL at Atl 24 [55] -5 [55]
30 Daniel Thomas Mia at Ind 44 [56] +14 [56]
31 Ahmad Bradshaw Ind vs. Mia 28 [57] -3 [57]
32 Knowshon Moreno Den at NYG 33 [58] +1 [58]
33 Da’Rel Scott NYG vs. Den 48 [59] +15 [59]
34 Fred Jackson Buf vs. Car 35 [60] +1 [60]
35 Donald Brown Ind vs. Mia 59 [61] +24 [61]
36 Montee Ball [62] Den at NYG 39 [63] +3 [63]
37 Jacquizz Rodgers Atl vs. StL 57 [64] +20 [64]
38 Bernard Pierce Bal vs. Cle 43 [65] +5 [65]
39 Bryce Brown Phi vs. SD 42 [66] +3 [66]
40 Benjarvus Green-Ellis Cin vs. Pit 31 [67] -9 [67]
41 Bilal Powell NYJ at NE 36 [68] -5 [68]
42 Kendall Hunter SF at Sea 64 [69] +22 [69]
43 Pierre Thomas NO at TB 40 [70] -3 [70]
44 Jonathan Dwyer Pit at Cin 53 [71] +9 [71]
45 Giovani Bernard Cin vs. Pit 32 [72] -13 [72]
46 Chris Ivory NYJ at NE 37 [73] -9 [73]
47 Mark Ingram NO at TB 41 [74] -6 [74]
48 Isaac Redman Pit at Cin 38 [75] -10 [75]
49 Danny Woodhead SD at Phi 46 [76] -3 [76]
50 LaGarrette Blount NE vs. NYJ 50 [77] 0 [77]
Expert Consensus Rankings (ECR) [78] from over 100 experts provided by FantasyPros [79]

 

 

 

Follow @EricMackFantasy [80]

 

Eric Mack [81], one of the giants among fantasy writers, is the Fantasy Football Lead Writer for Bleacher Report this season. Follow him on Twitter, where you can ask him endless questions about your team, rip him for his content and even challenge him to a head-to-head fantasy game. You can also listen to him on his podcast that he deprecatingly dubbed the Fantasy FatCast [82].

Read more Indianapolis Colts [6] news on BleacherReport.com


Article printed from ColtsAddicts: http://www.coltsaddicts.com

URL to article: http://www.coltsaddicts.com/colts-news/fantasy-football-breaking-news-pick-up-donald-brown-as-rb-insurance/

URLs in this post:

[1] Mike Chappell of the Indianapolis Star: http://www.indystar.com/article/20130913/SPORTS/309130034/Colts-RB-Vick-Ballard-out-year

[2] Donald Brown: http://bleacherreport.com/donald-brown

[3] The Fantasy Football Week 2 Notebook: http://bleacherreport.com/articles/1769653-the-fantasy-football-week-2-notebook

[4] Ahmad Bradshaw: http://bleacherreport.com/ahmad-bradshaw

[5] in a contract year: http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/fantasy/news/20130809/fantasy-football-contract-year-players/

[6] Colts: http://bleacherreport.com/indianapolis-colts

[7] Miami Dolphins: http://bleacherreport.com/miami-dolphins

[8] Trent Richardson: http://bleacherreport.com/trent-richardson

[9] Andy Dalton: http://bleacherreport.com/andy-dalton

[10] Doug Martin: http://bleacherreport.com/doug-martin

[11] 3: http://www.fantasypros.com/nfl/players/doug-martin.php?scoring=STD

[12] Adrian Peterson: http://bleacherreport.com/adrian-peterson

[13] 1: http://www.fantasypros.com/nfl/players/adrian-peterson-min.php?scoring=STD

[14] 2: http://www.fantasypros.com/nfl/players/lesean-mccoy.php?scoring=STD

[15] Jamaal Charles: http://bleacherreport.com/jamaal-charles

[16] 4: http://www.fantasypros.com/nfl/players/jamaal-charles.php?scoring=STD

[17] C.J. Spiller: http://bleacherreport.com/cj-spiller

[18] 6: http://www.fantasypros.com/nfl/players/cj-spiller.php?scoring=STD

[19] Arian Foster: http://bleacherreport.com/arian-foster

[20] 8: http://www.fantasypros.com/nfl/players/arian-foster.php?scoring=STD

[21] Ray Rice: http://bleacherreport.com/ray-rice

[22] 5: http://www.fantasypros.com/nfl/players/ray-rice.php?scoring=STD

[23] Steven Jackson: http://bleacherreport.com/steven-jackson

[24] 10: http://www.fantasypros.com/nfl/players/steven-jackson.php?scoring=STD

[25] 11: http://www.fantasypros.com/nfl/players/reggie-bush.php?scoring=STD

[26] Alfred Morris: http://bleacherreport.com/alfred-morris

[27] 12: http://www.fantasypros.com/nfl/players/alfred-morris.php?scoring=STD

[28] DeMarco Murray: http://bleacherreport.com/demarco-murray

[29] 15: http://www.fantasypros.com/nfl/players/demarco-murray.php?scoring=STD

[30] Matt Forte: http://bleacherreport.com/matt-forte

[31] 7: http://www.fantasypros.com/nfl/players/matt-forte.php?scoring=STD

[32] Marshawn Lynch: http://bleacherreport.com/marshawn-lynch

[33] 13: http://www.fantasypros.com/nfl/players/marshawn-lynch.php?scoring=STD

[34] 25: http://www.fantasypros.com/nfl/players/ryan-mathews.php?scoring=STD

[35] Eddie Lacy: http://bleacherreport.com/eddie-lacy

[36] 18: http://www.fantasypros.com/nfl/players/eddie-lacy.php?scoring=STD

[37] Darren McFadden: http://bleacherreport.com/darren-mcfadden

[38] 17: http://www.fantasypros.com/nfl/players/darren-mcfadden.php?scoring=STD

[39] 9: http://www.fantasypros.com/nfl/players/trent-richardson.php?scoring=STD

[40] 14: http://www.fantasypros.com/nfl/players/maurice-jones-drew.php?scoring=STD

[41] Stevan Ridley: http://bleacherreport.com/stevan-ridley

[42] 16: http://www.fantasypros.com/nfl/players/stevan-ridley.php?scoring=STD

[43] 20: http://www.fantasypros.com/nfl/players/frank-gore.php?scoring=STD

[44] Darren Sproles: http://bleacherreport.com/darren-sproles

[45] 21: http://www.fantasypros.com/nfl/players/darren-sproles.php?scoring=STD

[46] 19: http://www.fantasypros.com/nfl/players/chris-johnson.php?scoring=STD

[47] 23: http://www.fantasypros.com/nfl/players/deangelo-williams.php?scoring=STD

[48] 29: http://www.fantasypros.com/nfl/players/ben-tate.php?scoring=STD

[49] Lamar Miller: http://bleacherreport.com/lamar-miller

[50] 26: http://www.fantasypros.com/nfl/players/lamar-miller.php?scoring=STD

[51] 27: http://www.fantasypros.com/nfl/players/rashard-mendenhall.php?scoring=STD

[52] 30: http://www.fantasypros.com/nfl/players/joique-bell.php?scoring=STD

[53] David Wilson: http://bleacherreport.com/david-wilson

[54] 22: http://www.fantasypros.com/nfl/players/david-wilson.php?scoring=STD

[55] 24: http://www.fantasypros.com/nfl/players/daryl-richardson.php?scoring=STD

[56] 44: http://www.fantasypros.com/nfl/players/daniel-thomas.php?scoring=STD

[57] 28: http://www.fantasypros.com/nfl/players/ahmad-bradshaw.php?scoring=STD

[58] 33: http://www.fantasypros.com/nfl/players/knowshon-moreno.php?scoring=STD

[59] 48: http://www.fantasypros.com/nfl/players/darel-scott.php?scoring=STD

[60] 35: http://www.fantasypros.com/nfl/players/fred-jackson.php?scoring=STD

[61] 59: http://www.fantasypros.com/nfl/players/donald-brown.php?scoring=STD

[62] Montee Ball: http://bleacherreport.com/montee-ball

[63] 39: http://www.fantasypros.com/nfl/players/montee-ball.php?scoring=STD

[64] 57: http://www.fantasypros.com/nfl/players/jacquizz-rodgers.php?scoring=STD

[65] 43: http://www.fantasypros.com/nfl/players/bernard-pierce.php?scoring=STD

[66] 42: http://www.fantasypros.com/nfl/players/bryce-brown.php?scoring=STD

[67] 31: http://www.fantasypros.com/nfl/players/benjarvus-green-ellis.php?scoring=STD

[68] 36: http://www.fantasypros.com/nfl/players/bilal-powell.php?scoring=STD

[69] 64: http://www.fantasypros.com/nfl/players/kendall-hunter.php?scoring=STD

[70] 40: http://www.fantasypros.com/nfl/players/pierre-thomas.php?scoring=STD

[71] 53: http://www.fantasypros.com/nfl/players/jonathan-dwyer.php?scoring=STD

[72] 32: http://www.fantasypros.com/nfl/players/giovani-bernard.php?scoring=STD

[73] 37: http://www.fantasypros.com/nfl/players/christopher-ivory.php?scoring=STD

[74] 41: http://www.fantasypros.com/nfl/players/mark-ingram.php?scoring=STD

[75] 38: http://www.fantasypros.com/nfl/players/isaac-redman.php?scoring=STD

[76] 46: http://www.fantasypros.com/nfl/players/danny-woodhead.php?scoring=STD

[77] 50: http://www.fantasypros.com/nfl/players/legarrette-blount.php?scoring=STD

[78] Expert Consensus Rankings (ECR): http://www.fantasypros.com/nfl/rankings/rb.php

[79] FantasyPros: http://www.fantasypros.com/

[80] Follow @EricMackFantasy: https://twitter.com/EricMackFantasy

[81] Eric Mack: http://bleacherreport.com/users/2784017-eric-mack

[82] Fantasy FatCast: http://www.blogtalkradio.com/fatcast

Copyright © 2009 ColtsAddicts. All rights reserved.