- ColtsAddicts - http://www.coltsaddicts.com -

Dwayne Allen’s Injury Makes Coby Fleener a Must-Have Waiver-Wire Target

Posted By Mike Moraitis On September 18, 2013 @ 7:50 pm In Colts News | No Comments

Thanks to the season-ending injury to tight end Dwayne Allen of the Indianapolis Colts [1], Coby Fleener [2] has become a must-have waiver-wire target for fantasy owners.

Allen, who was knocked out for the season with a hip injury in the Colts’ Week 1 win over the Oakland Raiders [3] (per Michelle Beisner of NFL Network [4]), began the season as the team’s starter after showing a ton of promise in his rookie season with 45 receptions for 521 yards and three scores.

Because of his obvious talent, Allen was ahead of Fleener, who didn’t figure to get as many looks as the No. 2 tight end. But now that Allen is gone, Fleener will step up to take the bulk of the work as the No. 1 tight end.

It didn’t take long for Fleener to contribute, either.

In his first game as the team’s starter, Fleener had four receptions (eight targets) for 69 yards and one touchdown against the Miami Dolphins [6] in Week 2. One of his receptions was for 40 yards, so clearly Fleener has big play ability.

His eight targets were tied for second most on the team with wide receiver Reggie Wayne, and he finished four behind receiver T.Y. Hilton.

It obviously didn’t take long for Luck to turn to Fleener in a big way. As long as he can remain a reliable option through the air, the 24-year-old should get plenty of looks in the Colts’ pass-first offense.

Not to mention, tight ends are often the safety blanket for a young QB, so Fleener will become an important option should protection break down around Luck.

The recent addition of running back Trent Richardson [7] from a trade with the Cleveland Browns [8] (per Adam Schefter of ESPN [9]) will stop opposing defenses from cheating against the pass, thus giving the Colts’ passing attack more room to operate down field.

According to ESPN [10], Fleener is owned in about eight percent of fantasy leagues and that means he’s likely sitting on your waiver wire waiting to get some love. If you need a tight end, you’d be wise to pick Fleener up as he could become a hot commodity in no time.

Read more Indianapolis Colts [1] news on BleacherReport.com


Article printed from ColtsAddicts: http://www.coltsaddicts.com

URL to article: http://www.coltsaddicts.com/colts-news/dwayne-allens-injury-makes-coby-fleener-a-must-have-waiver-wire-target/

URLs in this post:

[1] Indianapolis Colts: http://bleacherreport.com/indianapolis-colts

[2] Coby Fleener: http://bleacherreport.com/coby-fleener

[3] Oakland Raiders: http://bleacherreport.com/oakland-raiders

[4] Michelle Beisner of NFL Network: https://twitter.com/MichelleBeisner/status/380363776739901440

[5] September 18, 2013: https://twitter.com/MichelleBeisner/statuses/380363776739901440

[6] Miami Dolphins: http://bleacherreport.com/miami-dolphins

[7] Trent Richardson: http://bleacherreport.com/trent-richardson

[8] Cleveland Browns: http://bleacherreport.com/cleveland-browns

[9] Adam Schefter of ESPN: https://twitter.com/AdamSchefter/statuses/380455668064337920

[10] According to ESPN: http://search.espn.go.com/coby-fleener/

Copyright © 2009 ColtsAddicts. All rights reserved.