- ColtsAddicts - http://www.coltsaddicts.com -

Colts vs. Ravens: Andrew Luck Will Lead Indianapolis to Wild Card Round Victory

Posted By Nicholas Goss On January 2, 2013 @ 1:52 pm In Colts News | No Comments

Indianapolis Colts [1] rookie quarterback Andrew Luck [2] will lead his team to a Wild Card round victory on Sunday against an overrated Baltimore Ravens [3] team that didn’t finish the season strongly.

The Ravens lost four of their last five games to end the regular season, and three of those losses were against playoff teams. Meanwhile, the Colts have won 10 of their last 13 games.

Since Luck is a rookie, he obviously lacks postseason experience, but Colts fans shouldn’t be concerned about this because of his performances against playoff teams this season.

Playoff Team Pass Yards TD INT
Minnesota Vikings [4] (Week 2) 224 2 0
Green Bay Packers [5] (Week 5) 362 2 1
New England Patriots [6] (Week 11) 334 2 3
Houston Texans [7] (Week 15) 186 2 0
Houston Texans (Week 17) 191 2 0
Total 259.4 (avg.) 10 4

Aside from a tough loss to the New England Patriots in Week 11, Luck was excellent against playoff-caliber teams this season and didn’t turn the ball over much.

The decline of the Ravens defense as one of the best in the league will certainly help Luck this weekend.

Baltimore finished 17th in total defense this season and 17th against the pass. Last year, the Ravens were third in total defense and ranked fourth against the pass.

Injuries to the team’s best cornerback, Lardarius Webb, and top linebackers Ray Lewis [8] and Terrell Suggs have really hurt the quality and depth of the Ravens defense.

In addition to top wide receiver Reggie Wayne, the emergence of rookie running back Vick Ballard has given Indianapolis some much-needed offensive balance. Ballard is a physical player that can play every down and excels in the goal-line situations.

A strong performance from Ballard would make Luck’s job even easier, but even if the Colts don’t run the ball well on Sunday, Luck can still win the game by himself.

Luck has led the Colts on seven game-winning drives this season, including four fourth-quarter comebacks.

The level of composure and leadership he shows in close games is rarely seen in a rookie quarterback, and any early struggles against the Ravens won’t bother Luck.

Luck will help the Colts beat the Ravens and extend their remarkable season by at least one more week. Luck has already proven he can beat playoff-caliber teams, and he will do it again this weekend.

Read more Indianapolis Colts [1] news on BleacherReport.com


Article printed from ColtsAddicts: http://www.coltsaddicts.com

URL to article: http://www.coltsaddicts.com/colts-news/colts-vs-ravens-andrew-luck-will-lead-indianapolis-to-wild-card-round-victory/

URLs in this post:

[1] Indianapolis Colts: http://bleacherreport.com/indianapolis-colts

[2] Andrew Luck: http://bleacherreport.com/andrew-luck

[3] Baltimore Ravens: http://bleacherreport.com/baltimore-ravens

[4] Minnesota Vikings: http://bleacherreport.com/minnesota-vikings

[5] Green Bay Packers: http://bleacherreport.com/green-bay-packers

[6] New England Patriots: http://bleacherreport.com/new-england-patriots

[7] Houston Texans: http://bleacherreport.com/houston-texans

[8] Ray Lewis: http://bleacherreport.com/ray-lewis

Copyright © 2009 ColtsAddicts. All rights reserved.