- ColtsAddicts - http://www.coltsaddicts.com -

Colts’ Super Rookie Andrew Luck Is Not Pro Bowler…Yet

Posted By Nate Dunlevy On December 26, 2012 @ 8:56 pm In Colts News | No Comments

The NFL [1] announced [2] the rosters for the Pro Bowl and Andrew Luck [3] wasn’t on it.

The rookie sensation has to wait his turn behind the quarterbacks manning the three best teams in the conference.

Peyton Manning [4], Tom Brady [5] and Matt Schaub all got nods ahead of Luck.

While teammates Reggie Wayne (sixth selection) and Robert Mathis (fifth selection) both got invites to the postseason all-star game, Luck was left off the roster.

Before Colts [6] fans get too outraged, Luck will still likely play in the game.

Indianapolis Star reporter Mike Chappell announced via Twitter [7] that Luck is the first alternate.

Because the team that goes to the Super Bowl withholds its players, there’s a good chance Luck will still get a nod.

The Denver Broncos [8], New England Patriots [9] and Houston Texans [10] are the three heavy favorites to represent the AFC in the Super Bowl. If that happens, a spot will open for Luck.

The voting came down to a choice between Luck and Schaub, and Schaub was the clear victor.

He’s the better player on the better team.

The only controversy related to the selection is that the Pro Bowl suffers from a lack of fan interest. It could be argued that it’s better for the game itself if Luck gets to play. Schaub plays for a team without any significant national following, and Luck could draw more eyeballs.

Ultimately, such protests fall short. Of course, given Luck’s likely participation in the event anyway, it’s difficult to generate any outrage real or feigned over the decision.

In all likelihood fans will get to see all the drama of Manning and Luck sharing a sideline while Robert Griffin III patrols the other.

There will be no shortage of storylines for the over-bored announcers to play up.

Read more Indianapolis Colts [6] news on BleacherReport.com


Article printed from ColtsAddicts: http://www.coltsaddicts.com

URL to article: http://www.coltsaddicts.com/colts-news/colts-super-rookie-andrew-luck-is-not-pro-bowler-yet/

URLs in this post:

[1] NFL: http://bleacherreport.com/nfl

[2] announced: http://www.nfl.com/probowl/story/0ap1000000117432/article/2013-pro-bowl-rosters-afc-nfc

[3] Andrew Luck: http://bleacherreport.com/andrew-luck

[4] Peyton Manning: http://bleacherreport.com/peyton-manning

[5] Tom Brady: http://bleacherreport.com/tom-brady

[6] Colts: http://bleacherreport.com/indianapolis-colts

[7] Twitter: https://twitter.com/mchappell51

[8] Denver Broncos: http://bleacherreport.com/denver-broncos

[9] New England Patriots: http://bleacherreport.com/new-england-patriots

[10] Houston Texans: http://bleacherreport.com/houston-texans

Copyright © 2009 ColtsAddicts. All rights reserved.