- ColtsAddicts - http://www.coltsaddicts.com -

Buying or Selling Andrew Luck as a Pro Bowl QB in 2012

Posted By Chris Roling On November 4, 2012 @ 8:09 pm In Colts News | No Comments

Indianapolis Colts [1] rookie quarterback Andrew Luck [2] not only has a shot at taking the Colts to the playoffs in 2012, but has a legitimate shot at making the Pro Bowl in 2012 as well. 

It wasn’t long ago the Colts fanbase was stressing over the loss of Peyton Manning [3], but it’s safe to say Luck has eased the pains of transition and rebuilding quite dramatically. 

In Week 9 against the Miami Dolphins [4], Luck led the Colts to a 23-20 victory while throwing for 433 yards and two touchdowns, which gave him an impressive 105.6 quarterback rating.

It’s worth mentioning that Luck’s 433 yards are a single-game rookie passing record, and he also joins Peyton Manning as the only rookies to have four 300-yard passing games.

The extent of Luck’s astonishing season doesn’t end there, as he has been dominant in the fourth quarter and historically great through his first eight games according to ESPN via Twitter.

 

 

 

 

 

Luck has propelled his season totals to awesome heights with 2,404 passing yards and 10 touchdowns and the Colts are 5-3 and sitting behind only the Houston Texans [8] in the AFC South.

The Colts have an outside shot at making the postseason despite having a rookie quarterback under center and being in a supposed rebuilding phase. A better bet would be having Luck land up in the Pro Bowl as a rookie. 

If Luck continues on his current pace he could very well end up in the Pro Bowl, especially with the lack of true competition in the AFC. Tom Brady [9] of the New England Patriots [10] and Peyton Manning of the Denver Broncos [11] are almost locks, but after that it’s an open competition. 

Last season Cincinnati Bengals [12] rookie quarterback Andy Dalton made it to the Pro Bowl as a representative of the AFC after throwing for 3,398 yards, 20 touchdowns and 13 interceptions. Dalton made it as a result of others dropping out or injuries, but Luck’s numbers should end up blowing Dalton’s out of the water. 

Luck has some competition, but at the pace he’s on he could make the Pro Bowl as an alternate. It’s unlikely he’ll make it over Brady or Manning, but an appearance isn’t out of the question.

He’s setting records at a fast pace and leading his team to victory at the same time, which is what was expected out of a No. 1 overall pick. 

What was no where near expected of Luck in his rookie campaign was a potential postseason appearance and to cause Indy fans to completely forget about Peyton Manning. For that, we’re buying Andrew Luck as a Pro-Bowler in 2012. 

 

Follow @Chris_Roling [13]

Read more Indianapolis Colts [1] news on BleacherReport.com


Article printed from ColtsAddicts: http://www.coltsaddicts.com

URL to article: http://www.coltsaddicts.com/colts-news/buying-or-selling-andrew-luck-as-a-pro-bowl-qb-in-2012/

URLs in this post:

[1] Indianapolis Colts: http://bleacherreport.com/indianapolis-colts

[2] Andrew Luck: http://bleacherreport.com/andrew-luck

[3] Peyton Manning: http://bleacherreport.com/peyton-manning

[4] Miami Dolphins: http://bleacherreport.com/miami-dolphins

[5] November 4, 2012: https://twitter.com/ESPNStatsInfo/status/265202291735425024

[6] #PeytonWho: https://twitter.com/search/%23PeytonWho

[7] November 4, 2012: https://twitter.com/ESPNStatsInfo/status/265210186246025217

[8] Houston Texans: http://bleacherreport.com/houston-texans

[9] Tom Brady: http://bleacherreport.com/tom-brady

[10] New England Patriots: http://bleacherreport.com/new-england-patriots

[11] Denver Broncos: http://bleacherreport.com/denver-broncos

[12] Cincinnati Bengals: http://bleacherreport.com/cincinnati-bengals

[13] Follow @Chris_Roling: https://twitter.com/Chris_Roling

Copyright © 2009 ColtsAddicts. All rights reserved.