- ColtsAddicts - http://www.coltsaddicts.com -

Andrew Luck Winning Games but Quickly Losing Ground in Rookie of the Year Race

Posted By Thomas Galicia On December 10, 2012 @ 12:29 am In Colts News | No Comments

There are plenty of reasons for Andrew Luck [1] and the Indianapolis Colts [2] to celebrate a wildly successful 2012 season, but winning Rookie of the Year will not be one of them.

Luck had another heroic come-from-behind victory for the Colts on Sunday, as he led Indianapolis to a win over the Tennessee Titans [3] after trailing by 13 points.

Luck was once again spectacular at the end for the Indianapolis Colts, who once again were able to snatch victory from the jaws of defeat. Indianapolis is now 9-4, and with a win next week against the Houston Texans [4] would clinch a playoff berth.

However, there is one slight issue not to overlook, which is the fact that Luck’s poor play put Indianapolis in that tenuous position before the comeback. One instance of this came in the first half, when Luck threw a pass he had no business throwing as he was being tackled. The pass wound up being intercepted by Will Witherspoon, and his 40-yard return for a touchdown gave Tennessee a 17-7 lead.

While the comebacks are thrilling, and the story of the Colts has been one of the best sports stories of the year, Luck won’t win the offensive rookie of the year award.

His turnover numbers are way too high. His 18 interceptions is tied for the most in the NFL [5] with Drew Brees [6]. When you see that high number compared to Robert Griffin III’s much lower turnover number (currently Griffin only has four interceptions) as well as RG3’s passer rating (104 coming into Sunday’s games), and the edge goes to Robert Griffin III.

How Washington performs if Griffin is forced to miss significant time will also factor into the voting, as the Redskins [7] still have plenty of opportunities to get into the postseason. Currently Washington is only a game behind the New York Giants [8] for first in the NFC East. Thanks to losses to the Chicago Bears [9] and Tampa Bay Buccaneers [10], the Redskins are also only one game back in the NFC wild card race.

If RG3 is able to come back and lead the Redskins to the postseason, he would likely win the award for putting up better and more efficient numbers as well as leading Washington to the postseason against a tougher schedule in the tougher conference.

If RG3 misses time, though, his chances of winning rookie of the year are still high if the Redskins wind up falling apart without him down the stretch. 

Andrew Luck has shown himself to be an elite quarterback in 2012, as he’s already brought Indianapolis back to their elite status of the Peyton Manning [11] days. But for this year, he’s not Rookie of the Year, unless something drastic occurs in the last three games of the season.

 

Follow @thomasgalicia [12]

Read more Indianapolis Colts [2] news on BleacherReport.com


Article printed from ColtsAddicts: http://www.coltsaddicts.com

URL to article: http://www.coltsaddicts.com/colts-news/andrew-luck-winning-games-but-quickly-losing-ground-in-rookie-of-the-year-race/

URLs in this post:

[1] Andrew Luck: http://bleacherreport.com/andrew-luck

[2] Indianapolis Colts: http://bleacherreport.com/indianapolis-colts

[3] Tennessee Titans: http://bleacherreport.com/tennessee-titans

[4] Houston Texans: http://bleacherreport.com/houston-texans

[5] NFL: http://bleacherreport.com/nfl

[6] Drew Brees: http://bleacherreport.com/drew-brees

[7] Redskins: http://bleacherreport.com/washington-redskins

[8] New York Giants: http://bleacherreport.com/new-york-giants

[9] Chicago Bears: http://bleacherreport.com/chicago-bears

[10] Tampa Bay Buccaneers: http://bleacherreport.com/tampa-bay-buccaneers

[11] Peyton Manning: http://bleacherreport.com/peyton-manning

[12] Follow @thomasgalicia: https://twitter.com/thomasgalicia

Copyright © 2009 ColtsAddicts. All rights reserved.