- ColtsAddicts - http://www.coltsaddicts.com -

Andrew Luck: Predictions for Indianapolis Colts Star Rookie in 2012-13

Posted By Alex Kay On August 17, 2012 @ 10:17 am In Colts News | No Comments

Andrew Luck [1] is being counted upon to replace future Hall of Famer Peyton Manning [2] at the quarterback position and save the Indianapolis Colts [3] football team.

That’s quite a heavy cross to bear for a 22-year-old man, but the former Stanford standout has proven that he is willing and able to accept the challenge.

In his first preseason game with the franchise, Luck completed 10 of 16 passes for 188 yards and two touchdowns against the St. Louis Rams [4]. He is preparing to face off against the Pittsburgh Steelers [5] on Sunday, August 19, and it remains to be seen how he will handle such an intense defensive unit.

Even if he can’t muster up another spectacular performance, Luck is certainly poised for a great rookie year.

Let’s take a look at some accolades the first overall pick in the 2012 NFL [6] draft can possible earn.

 

Rookie of the Year

Elite rookie QBs almost always win the Offensive ROY award. Cam Newton, Sam Bradford [7], Matt Ryan [8] and Vince Young have all earned the honor since 2006, and Luck will be the next to do so.

Expect passing numbers similar to or better than Newton’s ridiculous 2011 rookie figures (310-of-517 passing, 4,051 yards, 21 touchdowns, 17 interceptions), but Luck’s rushing stats will not be nearly as impressive as the former Auburn superstar.

 

Six Wins

The Colts [9] are a young, inexperienced team that no one is giving any credit to. That’s exactly why you can pencil them down for at least six wins.

They are under the radar and have no expectations, which means they will be loose and playing with an edge.

Don’t be surprised when Luck has pundits talking playoffs after a few upset victories, but the Colts will ultimately fall short.

 

Respect 

The most important thing that Luck will earn this year is the respect of his teammates and the league.

He’s a consummate professional who wants nothing more than to win. There is always a place in football for young men like that, and Luck will find success because he’s willing to work for it.

The world will take notice of Andrew Luck in 2012. 

Read more Indianapolis Colts [9] news on BleacherReport.com


Article printed from ColtsAddicts: http://www.coltsaddicts.com

URL to article: http://www.coltsaddicts.com/colts-news/andrew-luck-predictions-for-indianapolis-colts-star-rookie-in-2012-13/

URLs in this post:

[1] Andrew Luck: http://bleacherreport.com/andrew-luck

[2] Peyton Manning: http://bleacherreport.com/peyton-manning

[3] Indianapolis Colts: http://bleacherreport.com/articles/1280152-indianapolis-colts-roster-2012-latest-news-cuts-preseason-predictions

[4] Rams: http://bleacherreport.com/st-louis-rams

[5] Pittsburgh Steelers: http://bleacherreport.com/articles/1281920-pittsburgh-steelers-roster-2012-latest-news-cuts-preseason-predictions

[6] NFL: http://bleacherreport.com/nfl

[7] Sam Bradford: http://bleacherreport.com/sam-bradford

[8] Matt Ryan: http://bleacherreport.com/matt-ryan

[9] Colts: http://bleacherreport.com/indianapolis-colts

Copyright © 2009 ColtsAddicts. All rights reserved.