- ColtsAddicts - http://www.coltsaddicts.com -

Andrew Luck: Poor Performance vs. Jets Proves Colts Are Year Away from Playoffs

Posted By David Daniels On October 14, 2012 @ 5:07 pm In Colts News | No Comments

Jim Mora experienced déjà vu last week.

When Andrew Luck [1] led the Indianapolis Colts [2] to a miraculous comeback victory over the heavily-favored Green Bay Packers [3], believe it or not, Indy fans began to think playoffs. After the New York Jets [4] abused Luck and company 35-9 on Sunday, though, Mora is just hoping they can win a game.

OK, in the same division as the Jacksonville Jaguars [5] and Tennessee Titans [6], a game shouldn’t be too hard to come by. But it’s never been clearer that Indy is a year away from being a legitimate postseason contender.

The Colts’ only hope to string together enough wins to steal a wild-card seed was Luck catching fire. While the rookie’s flashes of brilliance have garnered him much praise this season, he’s truly been more style than substance.

Prior to Week 6, Luck only had a touchdown-to-interception ratio of 7-to-5, a completion percentage of 54.2 and a passer rating of 77.1. Against the Jets, that stat line only became less impressive, as he completed just 22-of-44 passes for two interceptions and zero touchdowns.

For how much hype Luck’s received, it feels like his numbers should be much higher than they are. But his phenomenal second half against the Packers is the only thing that stands between Luck and having a fairly mediocre rookie campaign.

For comparison’s sake, the Cleveland Browns [7]’ Brandon Weeden has been a lightning rod for criticism this season. But since Weeden awoke from his Week 1 nightmare, Luck hasn’t played that much better than him, if at all. Weeden has more yards, a better completion percentage and just as many touchdowns as Luck.

That’s why Colts fans need to wake up if they’re thinking playoffs.

Be patient. Luck is expected to have Indy playing in January for at least a decade.

But that decade hasn’t begun yet. And if you disagree, I’m sure Coach Mora would be glad to set you straight.

 

David Daniels is a featured columnist at Bleacher Report and a syndicated writer.

Follow @TheRealDDaniels [8]

Read more Indianapolis Colts [2] news on BleacherReport.com


Article printed from ColtsAddicts: http://www.coltsaddicts.com

URL to article: http://www.coltsaddicts.com/colts-news/andrew-luck-poor-performance-vs-jets-proves-colts-are-year-away-from-playoffs/

URLs in this post:

[1] Andrew Luck: http://bleacherreport.com/andrew-luck

[2] Indianapolis Colts: http://bleacherreport.com/indianapolis-colts

[3] Green Bay Packers: http://bleacherreport.com/green-bay-packers

[4] New York Jets: http://bleacherreport.com/new-york-jets

[5] Jacksonville Jaguars: http://bleacherreport.com/jacksonville-jaguars

[6] Tennessee Titans: http://bleacherreport.com/tennessee-titans

[7] Cleveland Browns: http://bleacherreport.com/cleveland-browns

[8] Follow @TheRealDDaniels: https://twitter.com/TheRealDDaniels

Copyright © 2009 ColtsAddicts. All rights reserved.