- ColtsAddicts - http://www.coltsaddicts.com -

Andrew Luck: Nobody Can Stop Dynamic Colts’ QB from Winning Rookie of the Year

Posted By Rick Weiner On November 9, 2012 @ 12:21 pm In Colts News | No Comments

There’s no doubt about it, Andrew Luck [1] is the NFL [2]’s Offensive Rookie of the Year.

For those Robert Griffin III apologists, stop now, because you’ll only embarrass yourself. That’s no disrespect to RGIII, who is a phenomenal talent and is going to have a long, productive career at the helm of the Washington Redskins [3]. But he can’t hold a candle to Andrew Luck right now.

Luck has already done something that the legend he’s replacing, Peyton Manning [4], has never done:

OK, Peyton isn’t a mobile quarterback, so is this really an impressive stat? It is when you consider this:

Blah, blah, blah, so Luck can run the ball. Big deal. So can RGIII.

True, but Luck’s got the whole throwing thing down pretty well, as ESPN’s Rick Reilly notes:

Nowhere near as impressive but still worth noting is that Luck has already eclipsed the accomplishments of his father, former NFL QB Oliver Luck, in only 10 games:

 

Two weeks ago, Luck set the NFL record for passing yards in a single game by a rookie, with 433 against the Miami Dolphins [13].

He’s on pace to throw for 4,677 yards, shattering the record for a rookie set by Carolina [14]’s Cam Newton last season with 4,051.

Luck’s not yet an elite quarterback, but he’s well on his way to joining that select group of gunslingers.

Perhaps the most impressive accomplishment on his resume thus far has been the fact that he’s taken control of an Indianapolis Colts [15] team that was one of the worst in the NFL and turned them into a legitimate playoff contender.

No other rookie in the league can say that, and no other rookie in the league is worthy of the Offensive Rookie of the Year award at the end of the season.

Read more Indianapolis Colts [15] news on BleacherReport.com


Article printed from ColtsAddicts: http://www.coltsaddicts.com

URL to article: http://www.coltsaddicts.com/colts-news/andrew-luck-nobody-can-stop-dynamic-colts-qb-from-winning-rookie-of-the-year/

URLs in this post:

[1] Andrew Luck: http://bleacherreport.com/andrew-luck

[2] NFL: http://bleacherreport.com/nfl

[3] Washington Redskins: http://bleacherreport.com/washington-redskins

[4] Peyton Manning: http://bleacherreport.com/peyton-manning

[5] #Colts: https://twitter.com/search/%23Colts

[6] November 9, 2012: https://twitter.com/ESPNStatsInfo/status/266730686487072769

[7] Michael Vick: http://bleacherreport.com/michael-vick

[8] November 9, 2012: https://twitter.com/SportsCenter/status/266762330606551041

[9] November 5, 2012: https://twitter.com/ReillyRick/status/265477419845185537

[10] November 9, 2012: https://twitter.com/ESPNStatsInfo/status/266763123573268480

[11] #INDvsJAC: https://twitter.com/search/%23INDvsJAC

[12] November 9, 2012: https://twitter.com/NFLfootballinfo/status/266732174202527745

[13] Miami Dolphins: http://bleacherreport.com/miami-dolphins

[14] Carolina: http://bleacherreport.com/carolina-panthers

[15] Indianapolis Colts: http://bleacherreport.com/indianapolis-colts

Copyright © 2009 ColtsAddicts. All rights reserved.