- ColtsAddicts - http://www.coltsaddicts.com -

Andrew Luck: Fantasy Owners Must Not Lose Faith in Colts QB

Posted By Timothy Rapp On October 15, 2012 @ 10:28 am In Colts News | No Comments

For fantasy owners of Andrew Luck [1], there are going to be peaks and valleys this year. I’m here to remind you that the solid performances will outnumber the disappointing ones.

Remember, last week I told you [2] that Luck absolutely had to be considered a potential QB1 each week. Sorry folks, but one bad week won’t dissuade me from that stance.

I know it’s difficult to remain optimistic after Luck and the Indianapolis Colts [3] played so poorly against the New York Jets [4]. Luck finished 22-of-44 passes for 280 yards, no touchdowns, two interceptions and a lost fumble in a 35-9 loss.

But let’s look on the bright side for a moment.

Yes, the turnover-to-touchdown ratio was horrible. But Luck did manage 280 yards, so there is something there. That’s now four games with 280 yards or more (with three of those games being good for over 300 yards).

Luck also hasn’t had a game with less than 31 passing attempts. His 44 attempts yesterday was his fourth game with 40 or more throws. The Colts aren’t afraid to throw the ball around, which means Luck should be in line to put up big numbers each week.

And if you look at the Colts, they are built for the passing game, not for a prolific rushing attack. Reggie Wayne is the team’s top offensive weapon. Donnie Avery and T.Y. Hilton have provided Wayne with a solid if unspectacular supporting cast.

And the future of the offense lies at tight end, where rookies Coby Fleener and Dwayne Allen are brimming with potential.

So it’s hard to look at the Colts and think they aren’t built to facilitate a very nice fantasy football season for Luck.

Sure, this was his second week with three or more turnovers. But in his other two games, he only has two turnovers total.

The schedule is favorable moving forward as well. In the next four weeks, the Colts face the Cleveland Browns [5], Tennessee Titans [6], Miami Dolphins [7] and Jacksonville Jaguars [8]. Looking at that schedule, it’s hard not to see big things for Luck in the next four weeks.

Plus, he’s only going to improve as he continues to gain experience this season. I don’t think Luck is the sort of player who will start regressing at some point. Rather, I think we’ll see a steady—if only slight—rate of improvement. 

Besides, outside of Tom Brady [9], which solid quarterback hasn’t had a stinker already this year or missed time to injury? 

I’m not going to say you have to start Luck each and every week. Chances are, you didn’t draft him to be your top option at quarterback and have another player worth starting. That’s fine—play the matchups.

But don’t discount Luck after Sunday. Don’t get trapped in one valley. If you do, you’re going to be very disappointed when you miss out on all of the peaks.

 

Hit me up on Twitter—my tweets never need help from the refs on the goal line.

Follow TRappaRT on Twitter [10]

Read more Indianapolis Colts [3] news on BleacherReport.com


Article printed from ColtsAddicts: http://www.coltsaddicts.com

URL to article: http://www.coltsaddicts.com/colts-news/andrew-luck-fantasy-owners-must-not-lose-faith-in-colts-qb/

URLs in this post:

[1] Andrew Luck: http://bleacherreport.com/andrew-luck

[2] last week I told you: http://bleacherreport.com/articles/1362082-andrew-luck-colts-qb-has-made-himself-must-start-player-for-fantasy-owners

[3] Indianapolis Colts: http://bleacherreport.com/indianapolis-colts

[4] New York Jets: http://bleacherreport.com/new-york-jets

[5] Cleveland Browns: http://bleacherreport.com/cleveland-browns

[6] Tennessee Titans: http://bleacherreport.com/tennessee-titans

[7] Miami Dolphins: http://bleacherreport.com/miami-dolphins

[8] Jacksonville Jaguars: http://bleacherreport.com/jacksonville-jaguars

[9] Tom Brady: http://bleacherreport.com/tom-brady

[10] Image: http://twitter.com/#%21/TRappaRT

Copyright © 2009 ColtsAddicts. All rights reserved.