- ColtsAddicts - http://www.coltsaddicts.com -

Andrew Luck: Colts’ Rookie QB Poised for Big Day vs. Titans Defense

Posted By Ethan Grant On October 28, 2012 @ 10:53 am In Colts News | No Comments

As the Tennessee Titans [1] and Indianapolis Colts [2] are set to square off in an AFC South rivalry game on Sunday, rookie QB Andrew Luck [3] has a chance to put his team in position for a wild-card spot.

He also has a chance to play against one of the worst pass defenses in the league. The Titans have allowed 16 passing touchdowns this season, which is tied for the worst in football. Luck and the Colts should have a field day through the air, and both his team and his fantasy prospects should rise because of it.

Specifically, their game against the Detroit Lions [4] still have people scratching heads about the state of this Titans defense. After allowing a huge day to Matthew Stafford [5], the Titans then allowed Shaun Hill to get up off the bench and throw for 100 yards and a touchdown that forced overtime.

The Lions finished the day with 450 yards passing and three touchdowns, good for 32 fantasy points in standard scoring leagues.

Tennessee is the next-to-last team in the league in allowing fantasy points to QBs. They’ve yet to not allow a touchdown pass in a game this season, and that includes a blowout loss to the Houston Texans [6]. Matt Schaub and the Texans offense was on autopilot for most of the afternoon, yet still managed to throw for over 200 yards and two touchdowns.

To make things even more favorable, Luck has had two rough games for motivation. He also has done something in six games that any QB on his team couldn’t do in 16 in 2011, per NFL Stats on Twitter.

Although Indy has won six out of the last seven games between the two teams, this is a new era of football for both teams.

Luck has taken over as the face of the franchise, and has performed quite well for a rookie. He’s led comeback wins over the Green Bay Packers [10] and Minnesota Vikings [11], despite the loss of head coach Chuck Pagano to cancer treatment.

The Colts have struggled in the past two games to throw the ball, but Luck found a way to get it done on the ground against the Cleveland Browns [12] in Week 7, rushing for two touchdowns in the 17-13 win.

As he prepares to face the Titans for the first time in what could be a long-time rivalry, look for Luck to get things started off right against one of the worst defenses in the league. The Colts haven’t impressed anyone on defense either, though, and this game could quickly turn into a shootout.

That bodes well for the QB from Stanford, who has shown plenty of poise and natural ability with limited offensive weapons. With a big day in Tennessee, he can further cement his No. 1 draft pick status and add another mark to his ledger in comparisons to Robert Griffin III.

 

Ethan Grant is a featured columnist and member of the Breaking News Team for Bleacher Report.

Follow @DowntownEG [13]

Read more Indianapolis Colts [2] news on BleacherReport.com


Article printed from ColtsAddicts: http://www.coltsaddicts.com

URL to article: http://www.coltsaddicts.com/colts-news/andrew-luck-colts-rookie-qb-poised-for-big-day-vs-titans-defense/

URLs in this post:

[1] Tennessee Titans: http://bleacherreport.com/tennessee-titans

[2] Indianapolis Colts: http://bleacherreport.com/indianapolis-colts

[3] Andrew Luck: http://bleacherreport.com/andrew-luck

[4] Detroit Lions: http://bleacherreport.com/detroit-lions

[5] Matthew Stafford: http://bleacherreport.com/matthew-stafford

[6] Houston Texans: http://bleacherreport.com/houston-texans

[7] nflcolts: https://twitter.com/nflcolts

[8] #NFL: https://twitter.com/search/%23NFL

[9] October 28, 2012: https://twitter.com/STATS_NFL/status/262541752458678273

[10] Green Bay Packers: http://bleacherreport.com/green-bay-packers

[11] Minnesota Vikings: http://bleacherreport.com/minnesota-vikings

[12] Cleveland Browns: http://bleacherreport.com/cleveland-browns

[13] Follow @DowntownEG: https://twitter.com/DowntownEG

Copyright © 2009 ColtsAddicts. All rights reserved.